Francine Rivers – Her Daughter’s Dream – Question 1



bookcover_buy
How has exploring the relationship between your mother and grandmother helped you understand yourself?

This is a question I would love readers to ask themselves at the end of Her Mother’s Hope. I realized early in the story that I have many of my grandmother and mother’s character traits, both good and bad. They both had tempers. So do I. They both had low self-esteem. I’m always striving to “measure up”. They both chose spouses who respected them. So did I. Both women had strong faith and servants’ hearts, something they encouraged in me. My mother extended grace to others — a trait I want to cultivate to the end of my days. By holding onto her anger, Grandma lacked the peace and joy she could have had in her last years. I tend to relive past hurts. Writing about Marta made me decide to let go, forgive and move on. For whatever reason, Grandma couldn’t and missed out on so much joy in her last years. Sometimes people deeply hurt as children take offense where none was intended. Holding a grudge causes suffering, especially for the one who won’t let go. Jesus said to forgive one another as He has forgiven us. Forgiveness frees us, even if the other person refuses to join in the process of reconciliation. As I examine my own life, I see how much I’ve been forgiven. How can I not extend God’s grace to others? The best way to experience the fullness of God’s presence in my life is to surrender it to Him. And in that surrender, we are made more complete and joy-filled.

________________________

For more information about the blog tour (September 20-October 4, 2010), on-going virtual book tour, book giveaways, PLEASE CLICK HERE.

 

13 comments

  1. Linda Kish · ·

    Please include me.
    Thanks for the chance to win.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

    Like

  2. I have been waiting for this book to come out. Please enter me.

    Like

  3. I’ve seen the cover of this book everywhere lately and I’m looking forward to reading it. Thanks for the chance to win it. Please enter me!

    Like

  4. I LOVED Her Mother’s Hope, and can’t wait to read this book! Please enter me!

    Like

  5. Jackie Smith · ·

    I have read all of her books and am very anxious to read this one! Please enter me.
    Thanks!!!
    jackie.smithATdishmailDOTnet

    Like

  6. I would love to read this book.
    Thank you for the chance.
    wdesirees[at]yahoo[dot]com

    Like

  7. sounds like a wonderful book thanks

    ABreading4fun [at] gmail [dot] com

    Like

  8. Midgie Bardo · ·

    All of Francine Rivers’ books have moved me so much; and I would love to win this one! As a woman who struggled with my grandmother, who raised me, I think it will really strike home with me. I know I’ll read it no matter what!

    Like

  9. I would love to win a copy of this book to read again and again and share with others. This was a powerful series and one that keeps you thinking. martha(at)lclink(dot)com

    Like

  10. I would love to hear the daughter’s side of the mother/daughter issue. There are always two side. I love the truth that forgiving others frees you, whether they participate or not. So very true.

    desertrose5173 at gmail dot com

    Like

  11. wendy marple · ·

    I love her books and can’t wait to read this latest one.

    Like

  12. I would love to read Francine River’s latest.

    Like

  13. I loved the first book and am really looking forward to the second. The relationships between women are often some of the hardest to deal with, but also the most rewarding. Thank you Francine for your works of art and your the thought provoking way you present these relationships!!

    Like

