IN THE SPOTLIGHT | Life among the Dinosaurs | Sandra Aldrich


InTheSpotlight

Have you experienced a moment when you realized you are older than you thought? I had one of those just the other night as I read a children’s book from the 1990s to my young grandson, Noah. One of the characters needed to call his dad, so he picked up the receiver and dialed the phone on a nearby table.

Noah leaned closer to the illustration. “What’s he doing?”

“He’s calling his daddy,” I said.

“But what’s that in his hand?”

“It’s a phone.”

“No, it isn’t!”

“Noah, believe me, it’s a phone—just like we all used to have. We’d pick up this part,” I said as I gestured to the receiver in the picture. “And we’d hold it like this while we pushed the numbers on the base. The older ones had a little wheel on front, and we’d put our finger over the numbers we needed, one by one, and turn the wheel.”

He stared at me, bewildered.

Then I remembered a local phone display.  “Noah, next weekend, we’ll go to the museum, and I’ll show you what I’m talking about. Okay?”

He nodded and let me continue reading to him, but occasionally he glanced up at me as though wondering what it was like to live in a cave when the dinosaurs roamed the earth.

When I came home that night, I opened my office closet. I can’t wait to show him the manual typewriter used to address envelopes.

How about you? What everyday items do you have that amaze the younger generation? And after you make your list, come on over for a cookout. I’ll supply the dinosaur ribs.

_____________________

Sandra P. Aldrich, author and popular inspirational speaker, is the president of Bold Words, Inc. Sandra holds a master’s degree from Eastern Michigan University – and, she says, a “Ph.D. from the School of Hard Knocks.” Her career includes 15 years as a public school teacher in the Detroit area, a member on the grief counseling team for a funeral home chain, and 9 years in Christian ministry that included several years as senior editor of Focus on the Family magazine.

Sandra’s often humorous presentations feature the importance of solid relationships – to God, family, friends and self. In addition, she has written and spoken on joyful living, marriage and family issues, grief, single parenting and family communication.

FIND OUT HOW TO HAVE SANDRA ALDRICH SPEAK FOR YOU EVENT … CLICK HERE.

CSS-SandraAldrich

