The Sweetness of Being Still | Janet Perez Eckles


beach3

Crazy busy, that’s what all driven people should be, right? Not so, this verse speaks to the contrary:

The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul.” Psalm 23:1-3

Did you ever have one of those seasons where your plate is overflowing with tasks?. Some of them are falling through the cracks, and attempts to balance all makes your stomach cramp.

I’ve been having one of those seasons. And Saturday was going to be the day I’d be catching up. That is, until my brother and his wife, visiting us from another state, suggested a trip to the beach.

I love my brother with all my heart and adore my sister-in-law. So I grabbed my beach back, threw in my towel, water bottle, suntan lotion and slipped on my hat.

“I’m ready,” I said.

We all climbed in the car. And while riding in the back seat, all the yet-to-be-done tasks filled my mind. Then guilt sat beside me. I carried anxiety on my lap. And stress pressed against my chest.

But when my feet sank in the hot sand, all changed.

I decided I’d indulge in this unexpected get-away. I spread my towel of gratitude. And with each swoosh of the ocean waves, it seemed God was whispering:

To everything there is a season, and a time for every matter or purpose under heaven.” Ecclesiastes 3:1

I said a silent, ‘thank you.’ God had sent this time under heaven for a reason. My mind slowed down enough to assess my crazy life. I had been so mistaken in dashing through my busy days, thinking I’m being a good servant and a responsible steward of the time God gave me. But I’d forgotten there is indeed a time for everything, including relaxing, receiving sun rays to calm the heart and splashing water to restore the soul.

How about you? Could God be calling you to still waters, green pastures of peace for a moment, for a day or a season?


Janet Perez Eckles imparts in her audiences a path to triumph over life’s heartaches. And with a refreshing blend of engaging stories and a touch of humor, she illustrates the journey to victory at Christian organizations, retreats and colleges. Although blind, she teaches her readers and audiences how to see the best of life. Her four books and keynote presentations have been called, “transformational.” International audiences and numerous media outlets such as 700 Club and Focus on the Family (Hispanic community) have featured her profound experiences.

css-janeteckles

Find out how to invite Janet to your next event … CLICK HERE

 

